Personal Project – Bruenor Battlehammer

I’ve been hard at work for the past few days (in between working on training videos) on a character that I’ve been meaning to dive into for the better part of two years now. I’m a huge R.A. Salvatore fan, especially his Drizzt series, and I knew I’d love to immortalize Drizzt, Wulfgar, Catti-Brie, and Bruenor in 3D at some point. I knew I wanted to do it in either Arnold or Cycles, but never really found the time to jump in. In the meantime, I had been working on my Cycles SSS shader. When I saw that BroadStu over on Blender Artists had posted a patch for Cycles that enabled strand rendering, I knew it was time. I jumped right in and have been making steady work on Bruenor since then. I love working on characters who have a defined personality and manner and basic description, but not so much a defined physical appearance. It allows for a structured creation process that also leaves room for plenty of creativity.

Anyway, without delaying any more, here are the first WIP shots of Mr. Battlehammer.

All base modeling was done withing Blender, sculpting and texturing was done in ZBrush.

BTest2BTest3

More to come soon!

Leave a Reply

